<span class="highlight">Tyre</span> <span class="highlight">Tyre</span> <span class="highlight">Pressures</span> and Insurance Claims

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 07:00
ThreadID: 25909 Views:2589 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
Heard a promo on the radio yesterday for ACA or the like re: a story on tyre pressure and it got me thinking....

Many 4wdriver's who modify their vehicles are concerned re: legalities of mods / weights when it comes to insurance ie. having a claim denied because the vehicle was not roadworthy. Yes, I know there is the argument that the defect / mod needs to directly contribute to the event that led to the claim...but...

What if I have my Coopers pumped up hard, say 40 psi, and have a bingle where I have lost traction in the wet. My tyre placard says 26psi all around - but this isn't practical for the life of the Coopers. In this instance with 40psi in the tyres and the resulting smaller tyre foot print could there be an argument from an insurer that I contributed to the cause of the accident as I knowingly used a tyre pressure contrary to the placard??

Would be interested in others thoughts.

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 07:25

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 07:25
Isnt there a range specified for laden and unladen on the placard? also it says RECOMENDED tyre pressures. Just finishing work but also I reckon the handbook gives a bit more info than the placard
AnswerID: 127055

Follow Up By: Moggs - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 07:29

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 07:29
My tyre placard is 26 psi laden or unladen. Yep, says recommended - but what if you are way over the recommended pressure - could it be viewed that you have done something that has contributed to an accident as you have in essence reduced the road holding ability of the tyre. Bald tyres are not road-worthy - was wondering if a small contact patch with the road is in fact just as dangerous as a bald tyre.
FollowupID: 381606

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 10:16

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 10:16
Hi Moggs, a bit interesting if the government in our state had not already declared you were speeding and that would be the cause of your hypothetical accident anyway.

I guess in most cases like this one the insurance company would tend to cover your 'indiscretion' unless they found your risk taking activities were repeated too frequently.

I think you taught me the climbing ability of the Pathy at lower pressures, and I know the 'Trol gets awfully light in the directional department at that pressure. I reckon that they could say you contributed but I reckon they would look to you as a longer term low risk mate.

On another issue, how about an Otways trip when the season clears up and tracks open?

AnswerID: 127063

Follow Up By: Moggs - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 23:38

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 23:38
Hi John,

Yeah, I am not personally worried about it - should have phrased the original post a bit better. Just was wondering if anyone else thought it could be an issue in general re: insurance - sort of in the same bag of concerns that many have with mods and road worthiness etc.

Definitely up for an Otways trip when the tracks open up. Would be good to catch up again. We are even thinking of doin another couple of days in the HC soon - maybe catch up then if it fits in with your travels.

FollowupID: 381685

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 08:56

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 08:56
Be in it mate if it fits between meetings and travels. Know the company would be good.

Everything in this state now has been turned to "you were speeding" rather than taking proper responsibility for all actions and allow appropriate management of the vehicle. I too, wonder that more attention has not been drawn to 5"-6" lift and the like, wether in road or offroad situations. I did see a Hilux that had fallen over in th Otways a while back - the owner thought if he was given a canary he would never get it road ready again....
FollowupID: 381696

Reply By: rob&kev&roo - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 12:51

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 12:51
the way i see it is if an insurance company can find a way not to pay they will. what is the recommended pressure for Coopers, is that the same as for the vehicle.
AnswerID: 127073

Reply By: Exploder - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 13:06

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 13:06
Yes but if you look at the cooper tyre pressure stamp on the side of the tyre it will specify something like 35, 40 or 50 P.S.I cold inflation pressure, so if you had the tyres at 26p.s.i now that is below cooper operation pressure.

The Car manufacture tyre placard pressures are to make the car have a softer ride that is it, when you think about it 26p.s.i is only 10 psi away from beach pressure, there is no way I would run my tyres at 26 on the blacktop, that is bordering on under-inflation.
AnswerID: 127075

Reply By: pjd - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 18:58

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 18:58
you need to get a hoby & learn to relax . if your that worried about an accident & being wiped by your insurance company next time you smash your car just adjust your tyre your pressure before its assest & then its no problem
AnswerID: 127112

Follow Up By: Moggs - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 23:40

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 23:40
I have a hobby or 2, and I am relaxed. :) It really wasn't a personal concern - more a general question as to whether anyone has considered that it could be an issue. Should have worded the original post differently I suppose.
FollowupID: 381686

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 20:19

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 20:19
ok take a look at your owners manuel that gives alot more info and for toyotas it ranges from 36psi front to 69 psi rear depending on load
AnswerID: 127125

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 21:22

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 21:22
funny what the manuals say and the way owners take it for gospel. I talked to a fellow having just done a west -> east crossing of the Simpson who had 50 psi rear and 40 psi front in his Landrover. No wonder he had trouble climbing sand dunes, chopping up Big Red in the process.
FollowupID: 381672

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 21:44

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 21:44
my point was you could use the handbook against the insurance company if they accused you of innapropriate tyre pressures. Sounds like that guy just needed some basic 4wd training or perhaps log onto EO
FollowupID: 381674

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 22:23

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 22:23
good point too Davoe.

Funny thing about the L'roverwas that he actually had an EO sticker on the back. I made the wrong assumption he had frequented the site. His mate bought the Desert Passes here and so a sticker came with each one.... Not the first time I have stuffed up. LOL He obviously needed to get the address behind the www in the computer when he got home and ask questions and READ.
FollowupID: 381677

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 20:25

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 20:25
My vehicles aren't insured so I don't have to worry about that one, Moggs :o)
AnswerID: 127126

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 21:41

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 21:41
I couldnt insure my camper but luckily i could still get 3rd party. after having an accident about 10 years ago I realized that the cost of fixing your own car is often the least of your costs best 90 bucks a year i ever spent
FollowupID: 381673

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 21:55

Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 21:55
Oh I have Balance of 3rd party on all my vehicles.....$66 per year per vehicle...Don't have comprehensive though...have to drive carefully :o)
FollowupID: 381675

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 11:50

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 11:50
I was taught in a safe driver course that high pressures are actually better in the wet because they "slice" through the water and prevent aqua plaining. 26psi! PFFT, yeah right.

I recokn you could argue that the origional tyres fitted matched the plate and that the new "offroad" tyres are within their tolerances that are written on the sidewalls. But I doubt it would ever even be questioned. I've never heard of someone getting a yellow sticker for having high tyres pressures!
AnswerID: 127170

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 18:25

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 18:25
I could see them whipping out something like "you didnt have the compliance plates changed to match your modifications" lol

At the end of the day, theres two simple words: "prove it"
I am keen to see how you can establish the pressure of a now exploded tyre.
FollowupID: 381842